How Many Acts are in Diablo 4 and How Long to Beat It?

A deep dive into the demonic Saga across prologue, six acts, and epilogue.

By GamesRecon

Here’s a guide for all you curious souls wondering about the Diablo 4 Acts. Unlike its cousins, Diablo 2 and 3, where the narrative was chopped into four acts (with a bonus fifth act thrown in later), Diablo 4 shakes things up in its own way. Say goodbye to the old warp-to-next-scene routine post each act, because Diablo 4 is embracing the open-world vibe big time. This means, that once you’re done with an act, you’re not just magically whisked away to a new locale. You’ll have to hoof it across the gnarly world map to get to the next chunk of the story.

Now, let’s break down what’s on the menu, and how many acts are in Diablo 4. The title lays out a spread of acts, each leading you to a fresh region as our hero (that’s you!) ventures forth in this strange world. We’ve got the scoop on the number of acts, a peek into each one, and the discussion on whether there’s a set order to play them, or if you can jump around.

How Many Acts are in Diablo 4?

Diablo 4 has rolled out with six acts, but there’s more! We’re also getting a Prologue and an Epilogue to spice things up a bit. Now, if you’re a seasoned Diablo player, you’d know that’s a step up from Diablo 3, which had us battling through four acts. And let’s not forget the roughly 18-hour gameplay it offered. Diablo IV, on the other hand, is giving us around 30 hours of playthrough.

Now, these aren’t just any acts; they come with tantalizing titles that practically scream epic lore and brutal battles. Right from the get-go, we’re thrown into the chaos with a Prologue titled ‘Wandering’. As we progress into the main acts, the titles only get more interesting: ‘A Cold and Iron Faith’, ‘The Knife Twists Again’, ‘The Making of Monsters’, ‘A Gathering Storm’, ‘Secrets Bartered, Fates Sold’, and ‘Dance of the Makers’. Just by the sound of these titles, you know you’re in for a dark and stormy adventure filled with the kind of gut-wrenching twists and turns that Diablo is known for.

And once you’ve battled through the six acts, there’s still the Epilogue waiting for you, named ‘From the Wound Spilled’. It’s like the cherry on top of your demon-slaying sundae. So, all in all, with a Prologue, six main acts, and an Epilogue, we’re looking at a total of eight segments of narrative goodness to plow through. It’s like Blizzard decided to throw us a bone, a big, juicy, demon-infested bone.

Below is the complete and ordered list of all Diablo 4 Acts:

  1. Prologue: Wandering
  2. Act 1: A Cold and Iron Faith
  3. Act 2: The Knife Twists Again
  4. Act 3: The Making of Monsters
  5. Act 4: A Gathering Storm
  6. Act 5: Secrets Bartered, Fates Sold
  7. Act 6: Dance of the Makers
  8. Epilogue: From the Wound Spilled

How Long Does It Take to Beat Diablo 4?

Now, let’s talk about the long haul, the time you’ll be spending in this darkly beautiful, demon-infested world of Diablo 4. It’s not going to be a weekend fling, Diablo 4 is here for a serious relationship, promising a solid 30 or so hours of gameplay in the main campaign alone. That’s without considering the endless hours you’ll likely spend exploring every nook and cranny, grinding for that sweet loot, and tackling the many available side quests and challenges that the game throws your way.

Compared to its predecessor, Diablo 3, which could be wrapped up in about 18 hours, this game is like that thick novel you can’t wait to devour, page by page, act by act. It’s packing more punch, more story, more grind, and obviously, more demons to send back to the hell they crawled out from.

And let’s not forget, each of the six acts, along with the prologue and epilogue, comes with its own unique flavor and challenges. Some acts might have you blazing through, while others could have you grinding and strategizing for hours on end. It’s a rollercoaster of a gameplay experience that’s sure to have us glued to our screens, thumbing away at the mouse and keyboard, as we keep progressing through its great narrative.